Guides helps you keep your information private and secure, and only available to the people you want to see it. Below provides an overview of how permissions work.

-

HUB - A user is automatically a member of a network if they are added to an open or private channel.
IMPORTANT: They are not considered a member if someone is subscribed to a public channel.

Channels - Channels have three levels of permission:

Public: Anyone on the internet can access & subscribe to this channel.
Open: Anyone who has been invited or is a member of the network can access it.
Private: Only people who have been invited to this channel can access it.

Guides - Guides have two permission levels:

Public: Anyone on the internet can access & subscribe to the guide
Private: The guide can only be added to private or open channels within a network or within a "trusted network" (one that you approve).

Guides uses permission hierarchy so a guide that is created in a private or open channel will automatically be set to private (which can be changed). Similarly, a guide that is created in a public channel will be initially set as public (which can be changed).

Did this answer your question?